Gun Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Dual wields Mosin-Nagants
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sup guys, just sayin hi.

found this place through Brucelee (from OT). cool site lots of info.

i turned in my FOID application about a week ago, i should be getting it in up to 7 weeks. i've been reading and doing research, but i'm a complete noob so i was wondering what you guys would recommend for my first handgun. i've talked to a few people and they've recommended Glock, Springfield XD, or Sigpro, and FN 5/7. but i was hoping you guys could give me some good choices.

it'll be used mainly for home defense/safety. my house has already been broken into once before, and my area is slowly getting worse. so i'd like to be prepared in case something were to happen again.

thanks! :grin:

-Jose

·
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no i haven't. do most gun shops offer basic classes or know places where i can get them at?

·
Premium Member
7,393 Posts
Get a 22 pistol. It will help you learn faster and get your trigger discipline down. Trigger work is absolutely key to shooting a handgun accurately. I recommend a Browning Buckmark, Ruger, or Beretta NEOS. It will allow you to shoot a lot for little money.

Now you can get a Beretta 92, Taurus PT92/99, Colt 1911A1 or copy, Glock, or Browning High Power and get a 22lr conversion kit for it to learn on and then step up.

·
... the aristocrats
1,020 Posts
Yeah - I'd have to agree The Ruger 22/45 is probably your best bet to learn on. Its cheap, ammo is REALLY cheap, and the gun is hard to break. The layout is on par with the 1911 so you will have the muscle memory to upgrade later.

If you really want something for home defense than a shotgun is a better bet

·
Premium Member
7,393 Posts