Gun Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Before I start, let me say I spent a bit of time searching Google for information on this but haven't found anything that completely answered my questions.

My brother purchased a Glock from Cabelas in Pennsylvania. It's registered to him currently, but I would like to purchase it from him.

I am a resident of South Carolina, but I am back in Pennsylvania for the holidays. I intend on purchasing this gun from my brother while I am here, but I'm not familiar with the laws in either state on the private sale/transfer of handguns. Could someone point me in the right direction on where to find this information? I checked out www.pafoa.org but didn't find information to help me on this. Is it as simple as me giving him the money and registering it when I go back to South Carolina? I read about having the gun sent to a dealer in SC, who would then transfer it over to me but it sounded like that was for a commercial sale.

Thanks for any advice. :)

·
Fanatical Feline
5,279 Posts
You should do a transfer just to be on the safe side, im not sure of the state laws in SC but I know they are tricky there. Transfer's are anywhere from 10-30 bucks plus 10-20 for shipping.

Someone here should be able to help you on the states laws, if not contact a local FFL.

Also, Welcone to Gunatics!

·
2,829 Posts
^^ That.

If I remember correctly, off-the-books face to face (FTF) sales are okay in PA. BUT.... to play it safe with SC laws you can always do an official transfer at a local PA funshop.

Other states, you may be legally required to do the transfer at an FFL dealer, or even a police station. Be glad your bro doesn't live in Maryland!

·
Premium Member
7,393 Posts
When transferring between states, its always good to go through a FFL just so you make sure the gun is all legit in the new state. You also create a sometimes valuable paper trail that shows the pistols has gone out of your name.

·