Gun Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to airsoft, But I'd like to know what a good starter gun is. ( nothing to expensive :? ) I was looking at the ICS M4A1, it was 319.99 and it comes with the battery and charger, but it was on eBay, and I'd rather not take a risk. Anyone know of a good site where I won't have to pay through the nose to get a decent starter? Also, I'm pretty picky with detailed weapons. I like to have my weapons function like the real ones. (Even if its purely cosmetic.)

Thanks,
~Kyu

·
Premium Member
1,882 Posts
Only prob with an ICS M4 is you stuck with it the way it is. There are very few upgrade parts compared to a Tokyo Marui. 99.9 % of all decent airsoft M4 upgrades and accessories are made for the Tokyo Marui. CA, G&G, G&P are copies of the TM M4. But they are not perfect copies of the orig TM copy and there are a few imcompatiblities.

In airsoft, as with almost any costly hobby, when you think you getting a deal, there's definetly downside which most new people don't factor in. In the case of an ICS M4 they promise a bunch of things but there's quality and incomptiblilty issues with after market M4 parts.

If you find a dealer that will stand behind selling you an ICS M4 by all means go for it.

This sites airsoft sponsor, Airsoft Extreme, stopped selling and supporting ICS AEG's a few years ago due to the multitude of probs they had with the entire line. But they do stand behind all the products they sell. They even have increased their warranty period to 45 days and most AEG's they sell are available with beginner packages.

Tokyo Marui would be my first choice for your first AEG. Since they're the most supported AEG it's a good foundation to start with. CA, G&G and G&P round out the 2nd choices, but you will at some time need to fix/tweak them internally.

FYI as of the latest batch of CA AEG's that shipped, there have been increased reports of some quality issues.