Gun Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to shooting defense-caliber pistols (most of my experience up to this point has been with Ruger Mk II's). I was at the range last night shooting a friend's M9, and I had what seemed to be an unusual malfunction:

I fired a round in SA mode. Recoil seemed typical, but the report had an odd, sharp sound to it. I caught a facefull of powder (wear your eye protection, kids!) and noticed that the slide had not cycled; the hammer remained decocked after the round was fired. Thick white smoke was coming out of the action. I put the weapon down, and signaled my friend and the rangemaster. They opened the action, and the casing from the shot was just sitting there; it hadn't stovepiped, but didn't eject either.

The top half of the casing was scorched, but showed no other abnormalities; the firing pin mark on the primer was WNL and the casing was unmarred and unbowed.

The weapon was inspected, found in good order, and I fired another 50 rounds from it without incident.

Is this a common malfunction, and does it have a name?

Peace,
Hans

·
Premium Member
7,393 Posts
Is this a Steyr or Beretta m9? I think you just had a bad round of ammo.

·
Premium Member
1,270 Posts
Very wierd. was the case seated in the ejector? almost sounds like a wrong caliber round was inserted in there.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
*cough* Idon'tknowwhattheejectorlookslike. *cough, cough* I looked as though a round were chambered, just missing the bullet.

I saved the casing, and it is, in fact stamped 9mm Luger. I suspected it might've been the wrong caliber, myself.

Peace,
Hans

·
Premium Member
7,393 Posts
Yeah I would say bad ammo is most likely the cause. The m9 has its shortcomings but ejection is not one of them.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ammo manufacturer